Oy, my back!

Alright, so remember the other day when I was bragging about not having lower back pain?  Well I’m eating those words now.

The best part is, it’s all my fault.  I kind of over-did it with the cleaning last night, but oh my god, our apartment has never looked/smelled better.  I can’t believe I let the place get that filthy.  I took out four bags of trash, slaughtered whole villages of dust bunnies, cleaned out the fridge, did the dishes – twice, and discovered the original color of the tile floors.  That was just the fraction.  I think I cleaned for four hours straight. I’m not a clean freak by any stretch of the imagination, but I think I just hit my filth threshold and something had to happen.

In general, I hate cleaning, but when I really get into it, I love it.  Is anyone else like that?

 

Heels?! You gotta be f@#king kidding me.

Today, while reveling in my spotless floors, I’m also trying to find ways to get some back relief.  I’ve been doing a lot of stretching but nothing seems to actually make it go away.  A hot shower is next on the agenda.  I can’t buy any Tylenol until tomorrow because they don’t sell medication of any kind at the grocery store and the pharmacy is closed because it’s Sunday.  Rats.

 

Anyone have any suggestions to relieve lower back pain?

4 Responses to “Oy, my back!”

  1. Jean Has Been Shopping Says:

    It isn’t much relief, but try a warm bath.

    Funny enough the bathtub was the one spot that didn’t get the clean-treatment. I figured hands and knees scrubbing would be a little to strenuous. A warm shower did help immensely though!

  2. birdpress Says:

    Aww… are you “nesting”? 😀 I have no idea about your back pain… I hope you get some relief soon.

    I think I’m the same way with cleaning… It’s hard getting started, but once I get going I love it. I can’t stop until everything sparkles! But then, I’m an all-or-nothing person. Kind of an additive personality thing I think!

    I think I am nesting a little! I’m really trying to get into better habits before the little Miss comes. I’m just like you with the cleaning. I’m a clutter-bug but messiness stresses me out. I think I’m a weird combination of lazy and perfectionist.

  3. Leese Says:

    OMG Jen.. I am the self professed Queen of Pine Sol .. I’m so anal when it comes to that but then again, I live with slobs so it’s either that or live in a bubble!! LOL

    Not sure what to do about back pain.. sorry!!

    Dude, I don’t know how you can stay motivated when you’re cleaning up other people’s messes! I used to live with to slob roommates and I never wanted to clean. If it’s not my mess, I dunno there’s just some mental block to cleaning. I admire you for having the will to deal with it all!

  4. kilax Says:

    Back massage? I do like the bath idea! I hope you feel better today!

    I get into a groove when cleaning. The “I am going to get this done if it kills me” groove! Mostly, I just feel so good when it’s all done and the house looks pristine 🙂

    I know what mean about that feeling. I was glowing with happiness the whole next day. It’s funny I was just reading your blog about cleaning for visitors and how motivating it is, and I totally hear you! I think I learned my bad cleaning habits from my mom, but whenever the grandparents came to town, watch out! She turned into a cleaning machine and I’m the same way. I was so proud of myself that I managed to clean so much without the threat of imminent visitors. It’s a good thing I did though, because I JUST found out that hubby’s grandmother is coming over this week, and she’s the Clean Nazi.

Leave a Reply

