Baby Update

I feel slightly guilty that haven’t been doing regular updates on the pregnancy news.  Well, it’s mostly been uneventful.  I think about it all the time, don’t get me wrong, I just don’t find a whole lot to write about these days. Here’s a few fun facts-  Nearing the end of my our 4 month.  Slowly starting to adjust the idea of being a plural, rather than a singular.  It feels like it’s gone by too fast and too slow all at the same time.  Today is the start of my 17th week.  I am definitely starting to show, which is probably the happiest development for me.  It really cements the, “this is really happening” thought in my brain.  Based upon my careful math, I am due March 30th.  I need to confer with the doctor to confirm this, but based on things he’s already said I think he will agree.

15 weeks3

The fourth month has been by-far the most comfortable.  I have very few symptoms now, which I really should be counting my blessings for.  “Blessed” symptoms I’m not experiencing (yet):

– Teeth and gums are fine, no bleeding or swelling.

– No lower back ache to speak of.  Shoulder aches, but I’ve had those for years.

– No constipation (hooray!)

– No excessive gas. (also hooray)

– No heartburn.

– No water retention, hand or feet swelling.

– No bizarre food cravings, although some of my facebook friends have argued with me on this point, I still maintain that I have eaten grilled cheese sandwiches with jelly on top since I was kid.  They are delicious, so don’t look at me like that.

– No headaches.

– No leg cramps.

– No skin problems.

Of course the way the universe works, now that I have gleefully declared all the annoying symptoms that I am NOT having, I will have them all in spades by tomorrow.

Now for a few symptoms I AM having…

Baby movement.  They’re really hard to recognize at first, but I’m pretty positive I’m feeling movement.  For now I can only feel it when I’m laying down.  It feels like a top is rotating inside of me, a bumpy top.  I thought I felt a really distinct kick a few weeks ago, it literally felt like there was a finger poking me from the inside.  It has not happened again though, but I know this is just a taste of what’s to come.  This part is also really exciting.

Morning sickness has mostly dropped off completely.  I no longer throw up morning, noon and night.  I still have random episodes which are usually brought on by cleaning.   I’m not sure if it’s from moving around a lot or a mental thing or what, but if my dealing with something gross like the trash or dirty dishes, I’ll starting thinking about how gross it is, gag, then it’s curtains for me.  I should just ask hubby to do it like I used to but I’m usually too independent for that, and I think I can handle it.  I am wrong, I cannot handle it.

I’m shedding a lot of hair.  I clog the drain every time I shower, I fill up my hair brush, I pull at least five strands out every time I run my fingers through my hair.  The books and online articles I have read all say the opposite thing should be happening.  Because of ever increasing hormone levels, the shedding cycle of your hair is supposed to slow down.  You’re supposed to have crazy thick hair while you’re pregnant, and then once you have the baby your hormones plummet and you lose a lot of your hair postpartum.  So why did my hair miss this memo?  I talked to my bff Hilary last night and she sad this happened to her too, so I felt a little better about it.  I’m still going to bring it up with my doctor when I see him on Friday.  I really hope I don’t lose a bunch during pregnancy and then lose the remaining strands that managed to hang on after the baby comes.  I will need to purchase many hats.

My appetite has gone through the roof, I eat about once every hour.  Things I can’t get enough of include:  apples (I buy a kilo every other day), cornflakes and milk, tuna fish sandwiches, and chicken noodle soup (which I have mastered at making from scratch).

I am going to the lab on Thursday to get blood and urine taken, then we’re going to the doctor on Friday.  I haven’t been to the doctor in almost two months (mostly because we took a vacation last month, then the doctor has had a lot of births this month).  I am really excited to see this ultrasound, and I will scan and post it!  I have misplaced the first one he gave me, put it somewhere “safe” but now I can’t find it.  It is still on the early side, but it’s possible we might find out the sex as well.  Usually that’s at 20 weeks, but I am in the range of possiblity, so we’ll see…

Oh!  I’ve also been getting some baby presents.  I have two blankets so far from new friends we’ve made over here.  Also, my wonderful grandmother who makes quilts for any family special occasion (wedding, graduation, and most important…babies!) has made a quilt for little Gummy Bear and sent me a picture of it.

Awesome!

Awesome!

More updates coming soon, thanks for following our progress!

4 Responses to “Baby Update”

  1. birdpress Says:

    Aside from the hair loss thing, it sounds as if you are having the ideal pregnancy! I’m glad it’s going so well! It seems early to be feeling movement, but that must be really cool. I already commented on facebook but I love that quilt! Good luck with the ultrasound. I can’t wait to see pics!

    You’re right, it is really early. I was shocked when I felt that kick. I can’t wait until it’s a regular occurrence…but I have a few friends who are due in Dec, and they all say the kicks can get really painful. Yikes!

  2. Rhonda Says:

    its so exciting, I loved being pregnant. and would like to have one more if I can convince my hubby:) my biggest issues was heartburn and I still have the Tums sitting by my bed. my lil Emma was such a kicker, hubby and big sis called her an alien at the end because I would put the TV remote on my belly and she would make it move like crazy…congrats and good luck, I love all the homemade blankets and quilts

    The first few months were rough, but now that I’m past the morning sickness and the fatigue, I am totally loving being pregnant too!

  3. kilax Says:

    I’ve never heard of the hair loss thing! I am happy your friend could relate, AND that you have been feeling so great lately. I love seeing the photo of your bump!

    Thanks! Yeah, I didn’t expect the hair loss, but I’ve always had really thick hair so I guess I can stand to lose some. I’m sure it will grow back eventually…I hope!

  4. Romi Says:

    I’m so glad to hear you’re doing well, and I’ll think good thoughts so you don’t suddenly get all the symptoms in spades! 😉

    Thank you! Now I just need to figure out how to un-jinx myself…

Leave a Reply

