Demotivated

I don’t know what is wrong with me lately.  I feel like I’ve hit an all time low in my motivation levels.  It’s driving me crazy but drumming up the motivation to do anything about it is well, hard.

I don’t want to get out of bed

I don’t want to shower

I don’t want to blog

I don’t want work (<-that one is really bad)

I don’t want to read

I don’t want to write

I don’t want to cook

I don’t want to clean

This is just the short list, and mind you these are the things that I normally enjoy doing.  I don’t want to say I’m depressed because I am generally in a good mood all the time, I just feel suddenly chronically lazy.  I don’t want to blame the pregnancy either because the worst of the fatigue that I had a month ago is finally going away so I actually do have energy these days…I just don’t have any motivation to use it.  It felt like I was getting more done a month ago even though I was tired all the time.  The high I usually get from accomplishing things just isn’t there anymore, and it’s got me feeling bewildered and lost.

I feel especially guilty about not wanting to work because my husband has been working his ass of lately, clocks 18 hour days on a daily basis in front of his computer and never takes a day off.  That should be motivation right there to work harder, but I have a hard time even logging 12 hours each week.  I seriously need to be shaken out of this funk.

We are taking a little vacation this weekend to Cyprus, and I’m hoping the change of scenery will help to improve this unproductive state I’ve been in for the past few weeks.  Something needs to change and fast, or else it’s going to start affecting our business.

*sigh*  Here’s hoping things will get better soon.

6 Responses to “Demotivated”

  1. birdpress Says:

    You don’t want to blame your pregnancy? You poor girl, the change in hormones going on inside you is responsible for all kinds of things. I know that supposedly the worst is over after the first trimester, but all pregnancies are different, and all women are affected differently. You can’t expect to be up to doing things as you normally would. I say you give yourself a break and realize that it’s not a matter of you being lazy; it’s a matter of you being pregnant! Just do what you can, and push yourself if you have to, but don’t blame yourself because things are harder for you right now. ((hugs))

    Thanks for the hugs 🙂 You’re right, it’s probably the crazy hormones. I keep forgetting about all the ways it affects you mentally. I’m sure I’ll be back to myself soon, writing about it helped.

  2. Amanda Blog and Kiss Says:

    Hang in there! When I’m overcaffeinated I get the very LEAST amount of work done. 5 cups of coffee is hardly akin to pregnancy, but maybe your mind is working faster than your body can compute?

    Maybe you’re just bored? Or maybe- just maybe- you’re in a funk because of all of the changes going on lately (and let’s face it, your whole world has changed several times over).

    This too shall pass.

    Anyway, viva vacation! Have fun, be safe and be totally careful on the drive!!!

    I have been sorta bored with work lately. It’s not really my passion, but it pays the bills so I just need to keep pushing. You’re right though, it will definitely pass, I already feel better about it. I think the vacation will help tremendously. I will be super careful! We’re going to head out tomorrow night, which is actually better because there’s hardly any cars on the road at night.

  3. Leese Says:

    Oh.
    Wow.
    Geez.

    Um.. hmmm… let’s see… start with hubs getting bogusly arrested.. subsequently being deported.. you moving to another damn country.. living with GRANDMOM for a while.. finally getting your own place and ending with that little thing called BEING PREGNANT and you don’t know WHY your not motivated to do anything???

    Girl you’ve been on a world wind of adrenaline lately.. moving at 190 mph even when your not moving at all so do yourself a favor and just let it be.. there’s nothing wrong with you.. just roll with it. .you’ll be back to your old self in no time!!

    If it wasn’t for those damn pesky custom laws I’d send you a chocolate peanut butter pie to make you feel better.. instead, I’ll just have to send some mad wacky love to you!!

    You’re so right Leese, thank you for putting things into perspective for me. It’s so hard to look outside from within because I’ve just been living it and surviving it for the past few months. But you are totally, totally right. I’m glad you’re doing a little better as well, I’ve been lurking around on your blog but I haven’t been commenting much anywhere. Again with the poor motivation… I was worried about you for awhile, I’m glad things are normalizing (a bit) and I keep you in my thoughts. Be strong, girl!

  4. kilax Says:

    Things will get better! It’s just a funk! 🙂 This happened to me after I hurt my wrist. I couldn’t do much, and didn’t want to do much. But it went away after a couple of months!

    Thanks Kim! You’re right, I’m sure I’ll snap out of it soon. Just need to recharge my batteries.

  5. A.Jaye Says:

    What you described is my default setting and no one ever got me pregnant. I dare anyone to try.

    Still. Are you better now?

    I am feeling better! Thanks. I’ve been getting lots of work done since getting back from vacation, but cleaning my dirty-ass apartment…not so much. Baby steps…More blogging coming soon too.

  6. Tnelson Says:

    Hey, I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say GREAT blog!…..I”ll be checking in on a regularly now….Keep up the good work! 🙂

Leave a Reply

