Keepsake

I know that I’ve been really quiet lately, and not a very good blogger.  My life has just been in total overdrive the past few weeks.  Exciting things happening though.  We moved into our own apartment.  I can’t put into words how insanely happy it makes me!  This is the first time hubby and I have lived alone together in two years!  We loved living with my mom, but we hated living with his grandmother.  She was crazy, two months there felt like an eternity.  I’m still amazed that we were able to pull this off.  We had to buy everything, furniture, all the appliances, but we managed to afford it AND not go completely broke this month.  Having my birthday this month helped a lot because my family is not the “buy presents” type of family, they’re just the “send money” type of family.  Impersonal, but extremely useful!  I’ll post some pictures of the new place soon.  I feel like we’ve finally put our lives back together again.  Speaking of that, I want to share a song with you all that keeps running through my head.  It’s by one of my favorite bands, State Radio, and it seems to sum up our lives perfectly over the last few months.  It’s a song about pain and loss, but it’s also a hopeful song.  It’s called “Keepsake”

Lyrics:

One gonna heal my body another gonna heal my pain
One gonna settle me down then bring me back up again

I’m gonna put my family back together again

One gonna hold my woman another gonna hold my job
One gonna help me get up, another gonna help me stop

One gonna help me talk right, one gonna lay me down to sleep

(Humming)

One gonna hold my thoughts and another gonna hold my bones
One gonna keep me warm and another gonna keep me cold

One gonna bring religion, right from a Coleman stove
One gonna help me keep, and another gonna help me take.

One gonna run me down (Hell a bullets in my way)

You’re gonna keep my soul it was yours to have long ago

(humming)

I’m gonna buckle my belt around the ceiling pipe
I’m gonna buckle my knees and I’m gonna lock em up tight

I’m gonna hold a pen while you drag my arm across the page

One gonna hold my memories another gonna close the door
One gonna leave me restless another wanting more

You’re gonna keep my soul it was yours to have long ago

8 Responses to “Keepsake”

  1. kilax Says:

    I am so happy you’re in your own place now! Did your new kitty friend come with? 😉

    I haven’t gone looking for that kitty that I was telling you about, but it’s still in the back of my mind. I don’t want to get my hopes too high, because what if I don’t find her? Also, hubby wants to get one from a pet store or a friend. His reasoning is that we should get a healthy cat first so we won’t have to spend extra on the vet right away. I understand where he’s coming from, but he also knows that he couldn’t stop me if I found that kitten again. He’s just as soft on the street kitties as I am, lol, he’s always trying to pet them, and I’m the one pulling him back going, “no, no, no…” And you’re right, there are strays everywhere! I’ve also never seen so many stray dogs in my life. Apparently though there’s laws against killing them, and the city even has a catch-and-release policy with vaccinations. I’ve heard there’s even special stray dog parks. Kinda cool, huh?

  2. birdpress Says:

    Congrats on the apartment! I really like the song too. Thanks for sharing!

    Thanks! I’m glad you enjoyed the song too. Their style has really changed since this album, now they write really political protest songs, but I still like them.

  3. fadingnebula Says:

    Yeah Jen!! I’m so happy and so glad that things are finally starting to work out for you. You give me hope!! Your little “bun in the oven” is going to have a happy home to come into! =)

    Thanks so much! I’m glad to see you back here. I heard over on Musing’s that you graduated from grad school, is that right? That’s so freaking awesome! Congratulations! Do you have a blog as well? I’d love a link.

  4. Emerald Says:

    Congrats on the new place, isn’t it such a great feeling? I love moving, it always feels like a fresh start (and of course *this* time I’ll be better at keeping the baseboards clean) 😉

    Yep! Oh man, expense of new apt: $$$?? Leaving dirty dishes in the sink and no one bitches at you: Priceless.

  5. thegirlfromtheghetto Says:

    Never heard that song, thanks for sharing it. I am happy for your new apartment Jen!

    Thanks, I’m glad you liked the song as well! I’m so happy we escaped crazy grandma!!

  6. tvsnark Says:

    I’m so glad for you! It must be so great to have your own place and only be with each other. I hate being bitched at about dishes and other crap. That’s why I’m not married anymore (well, one of the many, many reasons).

    I guess you can have loud sex now too! Congrats!

    Lol! With the door open and everything! 😉

  7. A.Jaye Says:

    My favourite Turkish delight is back. Though you must becareful of what songs you post.

    Try walking in my shoes.

    I need to start updating my Turkish blog again! Thanks for the reminder. Why do I need to be careful, is there something I don’t know about that will get me in trouble?

  8. A.Jaye Says:

    You know what right – I tried to post a Youtube cast of depeche Mode’s ‘Walking In My Shoes’ – to no avail.

    Bummer. But still. I always love the postings. And bitch when there isn’t my favourite game.

    You’re right, Depeche Mode IS a bummer…. 😛

Leave a Reply

