Password Protect Your Ass

I wouldn’t call this an official “rant” because I’m not really angry about this, more like mildly annoyed.  I’m finding a lot of my blog friends posting password protected posts.  The first few times, I was intrigued, but now I just find it annoying.  I went to your page to read your BLOG, not go look up your email address, and then ask to be let into your secret club.  I don’t have time.  On the few occasions that I did ask for someones password, by the time I got it, I had lost the motivation to complete the transaction.

Now…I understand, you want to protect your ass.  You don’t want the prying eyes of your boss, wife/husband, child or neighbor peaking in on all the dirt you’re spilling on them.  I dig.  I’ve been burned before myself.  Back when I was 18 I went out on a date with this nice guy, but then dished on my blog the next day about how horrible he kissed and how creepy it was, and he totally found it.  It was horrible.  I felt like a douche bag, and I’m sure he felt worse.

But, if you can count the number of people on two hands that you actually want to read your post, why not send it in a email?  Or there’s this thing that you write in, you remember that thing with the blank pages and the little heart shaped lock?  What’s it called again?  Oh yeah, a diary.  They’re great for keeping secrets.

Blogs are blogs, not diaries.  They’re public, especially these WordPress ones.  Does it make me nervous that my family could Google “Jen512” and find this?  A little, but I don’t talk shit about them (except my step-sister, and she’s too cracked-out to use the internet), I just cuss a lot.  I don’t talk shit because I learned a long time ago that blogs are not the place for that.  All those other thing you don’t want people reading about…just don’t write it.  There’s lots about my life that I don’t talk about here, and wont.  I keep my secrets, well you know, secret.

I won’t stop reading your blog, don’t get me wrong.  I want to read every secret you have, I’m just no willing to work for it.

[This concludes my un-official rant…thanks, I feel better now.]

12 Responses to “Password Protect Your Ass”

  1. Leese Says:

    Totally agree!!

    I really don’t know what the purpose is.. well, I do.. but it still doesn’t make any sense!

    I know I get people emailing me asking how the HELL could I ever publish some ( most? ) of the things that I write about regarding my family and stuff… not only are they “embarassing” but any person in their RIGHT MIND ( which I’m definitely NOT ) would want to keep them buried way deep in the closet.

    But I write because it allows me to vent .. allows me to say thing or think things that in a way, helps me understand myself or situations or other people. It’s my way of not going completely postal on everyones simple behinds!! LOL!! The feedback.. and most of all support.. is amazing so why would I want to password protect everything? You’re right.. that’s what diaries are for!

    It’s also the reason why I don’t use people’s real names and am very vague about details that could easily be found. But I’m not a total noob.. I learned along time ago that things you want to remain a ‘secret’ aren’t told.. or typed.. or blogged.

    Anyway.. this comment is probably as long as your post so apologies! I’m in a weird kind of mood!

    Hope your enjoying being with the hubby!

    ~ Leese

    I didn’t know you have a blog, give me a link, I’ll add it to my roll, and I’ll read it! Glad you feel the same, and don’t worry about long comments, I love them!

    • Leese Says:

      it’s: me101.wordpress.com

      have no clue why it never links… maybe because I jump over from Google Reader.. who knows!! LOL

  2. thegirlfromtheghetto Says:

    I have noticed the password protected trend as well. I’m not sure why people do that, either. I just know that ‘d never write one myself.

    Jen, I have a tech question for you. I have a crazy person spamming me about 10 times a day. Can you email me some info to check out IP addresses? You commented twice and sent me the info, and I have been looking for that comment for about 45 minutes now and can’t find it. It is one thing to spam a person, but this dude has done it multiple times a day for two or three weeks straight, I can’t stand it.

    Absolutely, are they spamming your email or your blog? It might be easier if you sent me their IP, Hubby is the computer magician, I’m just his lovely assistant 🙂 Email me anytime.

  3. kilax Says:

    LOL. I never ask either. Sometimes they send me the password, but does that mean I have to remember it for later? Not gonna happen!

  4. kilax Says:

    Oh, and how do you tell people “no” you won’t give them the password? Then they know you are writing about them? Lame and awkward.

    If I was going to write password protected posts I would write about my sexlife and my crazy family, but… I come up with other stuff!

    Lol, yes very awkward! Perhaps they annoy me so much because it brings up that old playground fear of not being “cool” enough. I go to blogs to laugh and/or be informed, not feel like an outcast! Hehe, sometimes my husband asks me not to write stuff about our crazy family members, and I tell him he’s robbing me of comedy gold, but I listen to his wishes. I’m not going to jeopardize my relationship over a blog. I think that’s the territory some are getting into with these password protected posts, and they should be careful. “Protected” doesn’t mean squat, I can think of dozens of ways someone could get around that if they really wanted to.

  5. joanharvest Says:

    I did one password protected post about my son but I won’t be doing one again. I felt too guilty talking about him behind his back so after thinking about it I decided if I can’t say it to his face then I shouldn’t say it at all.

    So, yes, I see where you are coming from. I guess if you are going to have a blog then everyone should be able to read it because that’s what blogging is all about. If you want to write something so personal that you don’t want everyone reading it then keep a journal that’s what I started doing. Of course, it’s all about my son.

    Oh, I’m so relived, you were in the back of my mind as I was writing, and I didn’t want to offend you! This post wasn’t directed towards anyone, I just had to get it off my chest.

  6. deathinfrance Says:

    Ok, what if you talk hella’ shit, but it’s only about one person, & they know full well that you don’t like them… & they’re bad at their job… & their body odor offends you… & they’re ugly…

    I love that shit! Don’t get me wrong. But if you want to talk shit about people you know, you need to make hell sure they can’t find it. Use a different name for yourself on your blog, use and email no one knows, and when you start blogging in the first place, tell no one. BTW, welcome! I’ve seen you around Amanda’s blog. Thanks for commenting.

    *Edit 2* LoL! Now I know what you’re referring to, I visited your blog. Bravo to you sir, see, you’re a perfect example of what I’m trying to tell people- if you’re going to talk shit, have to balls to put it out there!

  7. IdeaJump! Says:

    Ya, I get ya. Thanks for the comment on my blog – it all worked out by the way and I love my darn paid-for font, damn it!

    LOL! As you should! I’m glad you got things worked out, thanks for stopping by!

  8. Amanda Blog and Kiss Says:

    Werd.

    You dig.

  9. A.Jaye Says:

    Password protected? That defeats its own purpose if you ask me.

    I blog because I want to be read. It’s the ego in me.

    Bravo!

  10. tvsnark Says:

    hmmmm, I just password protected some of my posts. There are nuts out there copy/pasting things and using personal info in other blogs.

    I’m sorry.
    I’m getting better at NOT getting personal but I see your point. There are things I would talk to you about and not others (duh) and I should just send an email.

    Are you talking about those feeds that take parts of your blog and post them onto a generic website? Yeah, those are annoying. I was trying to help GhettoGirl figure out how to block those the other day, but it’s nearly impossible without a shell account on a server to overload their site with “pings” and that only temporarily shuts them down. It’s not really even a person that does that, it’s a program. Oh the internet.

  11. tvsnark Says:

    No, I’m talking about the Kate fans that are trying to get all the blogs taken down that disagree with them! Then they find personal shit about the blog owner and make fun of it.

    Now they are laughing because somebody’s grandmother might be dying.

    Are you fucking serious? I’m so sorry Snarkie! What the hell is wrong with people? If you need some support, I am ready and willing to flame, just point me in the right direction. Or if you just need to talk, email me.

Leave a Reply

