We’re in Turkey!

Hey, I can’t make this long, but we made it!  We were even on the same flight to Istanbul from Chicago.  The air marshalls were nice, they even let us sit together, and one had a few beers on the flight with us.  BTW, open bar on Turkish Airlines…sweet.

We got delayed in Istanbul for almost eight hours, he had problems at immigration because he only had travel papers from the consulate, no passport.  He had to go to the police station to sign a statement about it.  Everything was fine, it just took forever and I couldn’t go with him.  So lucky for us,we had the number of one his mother’s friends, Orhan.  So instead of sitting in the airport with my thumb up my ass, not knowing were to go or what to do, he and his girlfriend Fatima picked me up.  They were very nice, life savers actually.  They both go to college at UT in Austin and are back in Istanbul for the summer.  They took me to a mall, and we ate kabob in the food court.  Malls here are exactly like the ones in the US, except for the metal detectors.  Then we went to the police station, picked up my hubby (I was so relieved there were no problems) and then we rushed back to the airport to see if we could catch another flight to Adana.  It was 11 PM by this time and we had missed our 8 PM flight long ago.  No problems, they transferred our tickets and we ended up leaving Istanbul at 1 AM.  We got to his grandma’s an hour later and had dinner at her house, watched some divx videos on my laptop (Krod Mandoon) and then passed out around 6 AM.

Today we went to see about a bank account, did some window shopping until we found this internet cafe.  We’re working on getting internet set up and grandma’s apartment.

Everything is going well so far, we’re so happy to be together again, I kept telling him to pinch me on the plane because it felt like I was dreaming.

I’ll take some pictures, Adana is a big city, lots of high rise apartments and designer stores.  Reminds me of a cross between NY and Paris, it’s very cosmopolitan and European.

More to come!

Oh yeah, Tvsnark- I did get your package five minutes before I left on monday, so disregard my previous message.  Thank you so much for the book, I love it!

8 Responses to “We’re in Turkey!”

  1. Amanda Blog and Kiss Says:

    Welcome to your new life!!!!!!

    Woot!

  2. kilax Says:

    Yay! I am so happy you made it! I can’t wait to hear more about it there.

    I forgot to email you, but I got your package on Monday! Thanks so much!

    Yay, I’m glad it got there in once piece!

  3. morethananelectrician Says:

    Wow…this is great to hear.

    Indeed.

  4. joanharvest Says:

    I’m so happy to hear you are together and both safe and sound. I’ll be looking forward to photos and hearing about Turkey.

    Thanks, and now that we’ve got internet set up at the apt, I can get to work setting up my travel blog with lots of stories and pictures.

  5. tvsnark Says:

    I’m so glad you are TOGETHER!!
    That is all that matters!! Give that guy a big kiss from ME!!! 😀

  6. tvsnark Says:

    I’m so glad you got the book and that a little bit of me is traveling with you!!!

    Hehe, yep! Can’t thank you enough.

  7. A.Jaye Says:

    Welcome to Europe.

    Cherrio and Merci and all that! 😀

  8. birdpress Says:

    How exciting! I’m glad everything went well and you are there and you are together! 🙂

    I can’t tell you how thankful I am!

Leave a Reply

