Laptop Rx

I was without my laptop all day yesterday and today and was like my left arm was missing.  I could feel it in my periphery beside me on the bed where it usually is but when I would look directly at it, it wasn’t there.  The other two computers we have I’ve already taken apart so they’ll be ready for packing (I jumped the gun a bit on that one).  When I say it’s mine it’s not, it’s only a loaner from my mom.  It used to be my step-dad’s but I’m the only one in the house that uses it right now, and it’s my main work computer.  It’s a Dell Latitude D610 so it’s almost a classic, but the old girl still runs pretty nice.  I’m saving up to buy a new one to take with me to Turkey because my mom is a little sentimental about this one and I understand.  Lucky, so lucky for me my step-brothers own a Dell computer refurbishment business.  I used to work for them sorting and testing parts.  I dropped it off yesterday and picked it up today, I offered money but my step-brother refused.  They didn’t have to much–the main problem was heat, it would run for about 20 minutes, overheat and shutdown.  I thought maybe it needed a new heatsink or fan, but it turns out it was simply clogged with dust.  Now when I touch the bottom of the laptop I don’t get third degree burns on my hand.  Major plus.

Since they fixed my left arm, I must give the family business a shameless plug:

parts-people-logo

Now I have a computer business of my own but we deal in software, not hardware.  However, I still learned quite a bit by working there, even though I thought I’d never need that knowledge again.  How wrong I was.  Never turn down an opportunity to learn something new, even if you think it has nothing to do with your life.  You might find out otherwise someday and you’ll be thankful.

5 Responses to “Laptop Rx”

  1. morethananelectrician Says:

    It might be a sad state of affairs, but I can’t remember the last time I wasn’t near a computer…nad now I can do just about anything from my phone…even my iPod connects to something. I even have a spare old laptop at work. The screen went out on it, but I have it hooked up to a monitor so it still works.

    • Jen512 Says:

      I think my home is like a halfway house for wayward computers. Pretty much everything is ghetto-rigged and used. The new laptop that I’m getting soon will be the first brand new computer me or my family has ever bought. I’m excited.

  2. birdpress Says:

    That’s good advice at the end of this post! 🙂

    • Jen512 Says:

      Thanks, it’s partly to remind myself because I can be very stubborn about learning new things, but it’s something I’m trying to let go of because it’s just getting in my own way.

  3. New Laptop Babies « Snark Pool Says:

    […] laptops where going to be the only option.  I couldn’t take the laptop I talked about in Laptop Rx because it was a loaner and it was starting to have fatal errors in the hard drive.  I have […]

Leave a Reply

