Killer Cats!

***Disclaimer: Anyone highly sensitive towards birds should read at their own risk***

Springtime in Texas is spectacular, we have wild flowers blooming, bright new green leaves, azure blue skies filled with white puffy clouds, birds singing and baby animals being born…except in my yard.  During spring my yard becomes a baby bird killing field.

I’ve got three cats, well really four, but the fourth is my mom’s cat Pearl.  Pearl plays surrogate mom to the two kittens but really she is just a giant kitten herself.  Hubby and I have been living with my mom ever since my step-dad died last year.

Pearl in silk pillow heaven...

Pearl in silk pillow heaven...

All of our cats are master hunters, and I can’t really say one is any better than the others.  They all catch their fair share of rodents, geckos, snakes, and June bugs…but springtime is open season on baby birds.  I even catch them climbing the trees in the backyard trying to pluck them out of nests.  When I see this I try to spray them with the hose, but I can’t be in the backyard all day and my sneaky cats know this.  I try everything, they even all have bells on their collars, but nothing saves those birds.

For two summers when I was a teenager I worked at an animal rescue facility.  During the spring each day people would bring in baby birds their cats had chewed.  I would always tell the kind, soft-hearted citizen than we would do our best to save the bird, and they would leave with their conscious feeling a little lighter.  The truth was 90% of the time I would have to walk to the back room and immediately euthanize the bird, you see cat’s mouths are so filled with bacteria, infection would have killed the birds slowly and painfully if I had not put them down.  Once in a blue moon we’d get birds that weren’t bit very much or baby birds that had just fallen out of the nest and had been lucky enough to be found by a human not a cat or dog.  Those were the birds I would nurse back to health and then release when they were strong enough to fly.  Those were always really good days.

When I woke up this morning I went into the living room, and I immediately notice Leele, Ecko and Pearl gathered suspiciously behind the dinning room table.  I suspected they had something back there, and one look at their guilty cat faces, I knew.  I go behind the table and lift up a painting that was sitting on the floor leaning against a wall, and hiding behind it is a baby pigeon.  I can deal with the cats catching birds, but when they insist on bringing their prize into the house is where I draw the line, for obvious reasons.  I tried to grab the bird but it scrambled under a cabinet, and I’m thinking, “Oh shit how am I going to move this heavy-ass piece of furniture by myself…” but lucky for me Ecko crawled under and retrieved it as soon as it disappeared.  Seeing my chance to get the bird outside without having to touch it, I pick up Ecko with the bird still in her mouth.  The little bitch growls at me!!  I’m praying out loud that she will not drop the bird before I can get them both to the backdoor, but as soon as I open the door she drops it…of course.  I grab the bird, and toss it outside with the kittens in hot pursit.  Ecko ends up eating it outside (not the whole thing, just the meaty parts) which is okay.  I’d rather them eat what they catch rather than just play with it until it’s dead…I find it slightly more humane…

Searching for more victims...

Searching for more victims...

Sorry if this story disturbed anyone…my apologies, you were warned.

6 Responses to “Killer Cats!”

  1. morethananelectrician Says:

    The food chain is a simple process…except when it is happening in your dining room…and not on top of the table.

    • Jen512 Says:

      No kidding! They’re so cute until they’re ripping a tiny animal apart in front of me…but even then they’re a little cute 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by MTAE!

  2. amandablogandkiss Says:

    I thought this was purely a cat thing but a few weeks ago i looked down at the dog bed, and laying there was a tiny, chewed up baby mouse. 😦 Apparently dogs do the hunt thing too, even wussy dogs like mine. Not cute.

    • Jen512 Says:

      Oh yes! I used to have a rottweiler/german shepard/chow-chow mix and she was the best mouser! She would always stalk the fridge because the mice would hide under it, and she was always better than the cats at catching them. I also think most dogs would go after birds if they could catch them.

  3. kilax Says:

    LOL! I cannot believed Ecko growled! She was afraid you were going to take her “toy” away! 😉

    Pearl looks like our gray cat, Data. 🙂

    • Jen512 Says:

      Exactly! She turned into a little lioness with that bird in her mouth. I have to say, the dead bird tallies have been rising over the past few weeks, and she’s the champ. Looking forward to winter!

Leave a Reply

