Trapped in ICE: The Ninth Circle of Hell

I haven’t written an update in awhile on this and this.

I learned something new this week, we’re not dealing with the INS, we’re dealing with ICE.  ICE stands for Immigration and Customs Enforcement.  Every time I have to say it to someone it sounds weird coming out of my mouth, so I still call it the INS sometimes.

ICE makes me feel like we’re in Hell, and my husband and I are trapped.  In Dante’s Inferno the final circle of Hell is filled with a lake of ice, not fire.  In the center of the lake, Satan is trapped up to his waist in ice and he claws and flaps his wings trying to get free, but the beating of his wings only makes the icy winds blow harder, the ice will never melt, thus ensuring he will never escape.  You see, in the Inferno Satan is the ultimate prisoner of Hell, not the ruler.

Gustave_Dore_Inferno34
Dante and Virgil escape by climbing down the ragged fur of Lucifer, passing through the center of the earth, emerging in the other hemisphere just before dawn on Easter Sunday, beneath a sky studded with stars.

I’m not a religious person, I label myself as agnostic and don’t necessarily believe there is a heaven or hell, but I always enjoyed the imagery of Dante’s poems.

*********

So here’s what’s been going on this week, my man is still in county custody.  It’s been 11 fucking days!  ICE was supposed to pick him up from the county jail within 48 hours of his arrest.  I hired a lawyer yesterday who seems to have experience advocating to ICE on behalf of immigrants.  It is super dangerous in there as he is being held in the felon ward because he’s there on a federal hold.  He has no charges but he’s in a high security ward, does this make sense to anyone else?  Because I’m at a loss.  Since I have a lawyer on ICE’s ass now I’m hoping that he will be moved within the next 48 hours, but if he’s not our next step is to look into filing a writ of Habeas corpus (if you don’t remember from HS government class, that’s protection from unlawful detention).

Unfortunately I learned that we probably won’t be able to make our own travel arrangements if they choose to keep him in ICE custody through the deportation process.  However they have a maximum of three months to deport him otherwise they have to let him go.  Also, once they finally have him in ICE custody the lawyer can go to the ICE judge and file a motion to have grant him supervised release (kinda like getting out on probation) where you have to check in daily, and then we could make our own travel arrangements.  Everything is a huge maybe right now.  I’ve been staying pretty strong so far, but today I was falling apart.  Part of my frustration was the general lack of answers, part of it was lack of sleep, and the other part was an asshole creditor that was harassing me by phone today while I was trying to take a nap.  He called me back three times yelling at me after I hung up on him.  This company trying to collect from me for a few months and is breaking all kinds of laws, but I think that’s a rant I’ll save for another post.

debt-debt-collector-2

Update du jour…

Okay so ICE admited to our attorney that they fucked up, so they went and picked him up today from the county jail.  We lobbied for release but ICE has said no for now and has moved him to a facility half way to Mexico.  I’m trying to figure out when I can drive the three hours to go see him, possibly tomorrow, I’m not sure yet.  Hoping for more news tomorrow.

13 Responses to “Trapped in ICE: The Ninth Circle of Hell”

  1. fadingnebula Says:

    Oh, Jen, my legal problems are nothing like this, but I’ve got them….I’m praying every day for you!

    • Jen512 Says:

      Thank you, with the help of everyone’s prayers we are keeping the wheels in motion. I am going down there tomorrow but not to see him (visits on weekends only), I am going to pick up some important paperwork from ICE so that I can fax it to the Turkish consulate. For the first time in a week I’m starting to get a good feeling this will be over soon.

  2. tvsnark Says:

    THIS SUCKS!

    I hope this is over soon! I think about you daily even though I don’t post. THIS SITUATION SUCKS!!!!

    • Jen512 Says:

      You’re so right, and thank you for your thoughts. Things are slowly progressing, and I’ll make sure to keep you guys updated.

      I’m staying strong.

  3. Leese Says:

    Hey Jen…
    I linked over from Ghetto Girls sight and I just wanted to say that my thoughts and prayers :: plus crossed fingers and toes :: are with you, your husband and family.

    I’ll be honest, I haven’t read every post regarding your situation yet :: long day a bbq w/ the fam.. ’nuff said! :: but I had to comment because I know what it’s like dealing with the legal / justice :: cough cough :: system when my husband was arrested for something he had no parts of.

    I’ve written extensively about it on my own blog but what I wanted to say was the punch in the gut feeling I got when my lawyer said. “… your not playing with a fair system”

    Even now, those words echo like the inside of the Liberty Bell.

    Wonderful.. hard working / tax paying / live paycheck to paycheck people getting the shaft because they’re not playing with a fair system.

    Sorry… I’ll knock myself off my soapbox!! At any rate.. just add me to the list of people who are rooting for you!

    ~ Leese

    • Jen512 Says:

      Thank you for stopping by and most of all for commenting. I can’t tell you how much the support from my blog has helped me though this. I can’t believe random people are out there thinking and praying for us. And please stay on your soapbox!

      I’m sorry to hear about your legal problems, and I will definitely check out your site. You’re so right about the system being unfair, I’m so used the rights afforded to me because of my citizenship. This situation has opened my eyes about the human rights violations going on in our very own country. Non-citizens have no rights, and it’s sickening. He’s met people at ICE detention that have been stuck in there for 8 years because their own countries (especially Cuba and Haiti) are denying them citizenship so they basically have to sit in prison forever because they don’t have a country. Human beings, not charged with any crimes, are being imprisoned in massive numbers on our own soil. Can you believe that?

  4. birdpress Says:

    I just came here after seeing your post on my blog. I thought I had you bookmarked, but I guess maybe I just came by and thought your blog was all about TV shows, LOL, which I know nothing about.

    Anyway, I backtracked to read through your whole ordeal. Wow! That is just terrible! I read one comment about your contacting the ACLU and wondered if anything came of that? I don’t know if they can help or not, but I thought it was an interesting idea. My husband is a member of the ACLU, although not really involved with anything, as he is currently still a student at the National Labor College. He has learned and opened my own eyes about some of the situations regarding immigrants.

    I found it very sad the way you talked about feeling trapped because of it, where you wouldn’t let him drive on his own, and then how he was so afraid when he made a mistake in traffic, and for good reason. This is all so unfair. I really have no advice for you or anything; I just wanted to comment to give you support and let you know that I read up on everything, and I’ll be looking for updates on this. You are in my thoughts and prayers.

    • Jen512 Says:

      Aw, thanks Birdpress. Don’t worry, this was initially a blog about pop culture and tv shows, but then life sorta came up an smacked me in the face. It’s been a great outlet for me, and it’s really touching that all of these wonderful writers (you included) that I’ve been reading for months are sending me their love and prayers. Thank you thank you thank you!

      I actually have not gotten in contact with the ACLU, but I think I might tomorrow. I did talk with Amnesty International, and they referred me to some other organizations. Last week I was just too focused on hiring a good lawyer that I haven’t gotten to the activism part, but that’s the next step. More updates are coming! Thanks again.

  5. thegirlfromtheghetto Says:

    Yes, I can beleive this, because I know it happens all the time. Scary if you are accused of something bad. Hell, on a tour to Europe German police pulled two girls from our trip because the witnessed a bad beating that may have tuned into murder. They detained them for like ten hours, and they had to pay to meet up with us in another country. Scary shit.

    Ok, from what I know about ICE, this is weird. They come asap. Something is up, but you live in Texas, and not Michigan like me, so maybe they are more busy? what a nightmare Jen, i feel so bad for you.

    BTW, Pearl is a great cat name.

    • Jen512 Says:

      Yeah, he is finally in ICE custody, but that’s a whole ‘nother nightmare now. I’m going to do another update post tonight if I don’t pass out. I think they are overwhelmed in Texas, it can get really freaky once you get closer to the boarder because there are check points everywhere. Even when I have nothing to hide it makes me paranoid as hell.

      Thanks, Pearl or Purrl as my mom spells it, got her name because she has a white spot on her neck and we thought it looked like a pearl. She has one on her tummy too 🙂 She’s a wild cat turned tame, so she’s got a pretty quirky personality, but she’s really affectionate for being a feral cat.

  6. A.Jaye Says:

    At least there’s movement in your situation and you’re not stuck in a Guantanamo limbo. Our version over here is called the Home Office and they like every government organisation are beaurocratic and inept. Monkeys for peanuts as the saying goes.

    The trick is in the fight. Yeah, the system is not fair and/or balanced but my advice is to beleaguer them. Use whatever weapons – lawyers, sympathy – and direct at the person who can say ‘yes’.

    End of the day it’s a human decision.

    Easier said.

    Godspeed.

  7. Another Deportation Update « Snark Pool Says:

    […] you are new to this story, see Part 1, Part 2, and Part 3 of the […]

Leave a Reply

