34 Weeks

Man, these weeks are ticking by so fast! I’m starting to feel like an over-inflated balloon. I’m lucky though, I still don’t have any stretch marks (thank you baby Jesus) and my belly button has not popped out. I keep wondering if it will at all, I’d be happy if it didn’t – the idea still kinda freaks me out.

I had a doctor’s appointment last week and it went well.  All of my lab tests came back normal, and the ultrasound looked great. We weren’t able to get an ultrasound picture because she kept holding her hands over her face. We got a couple of quick peeks though, and wow, the detail is amazing. You never get a sense of how much you can see when you look at people’s fuzzy ultrasound pictures, but when you’re seeing it live the quality is actually remarkable. They gave us a DVD of all the ultrasounds up to this point, but when I got home I realized that all the DVD players we have (in our computers) are zoned for the US and they won’t read the turkish DVD. Bummer. I’m sure I’ll figure out a way to get it off of there eventually.

She has a big head and long femurs. Last week, over all she measured at 33 weeks, which is right on track, but her head was measuring 35 weeks and her femurs were at 37 weeks! Holy crap. I hope she’s not too long for her onesies, or you know, doesn’t kick me in the throat before she even comes out.

Three weeks ago - 31 weeks

Three weeks ago - 31 weeks

My mom is coming in four weeks, and I’m almost more excited about that than anything else!  I haven’t seen her since June.  She’s going to stay for a month and I am happily going to put her to work, which she will happily do!

Also, I’m planning on attempting an all-natural birth, something I wouldn’t have even fathomed a few months ago, but more on that in another post… ;)

4 Responses to “34 Weeks”

  1. morethananelectrician Says:

    Uh-oh. Don’t get past, present and future moms going on the birthing debate…that is a hot topic.

    Tell me about it. I couldn’t even get my doctor fully on board, he thinks I’m a crazy American…which is true.

  2. thegirlfromtheghetto Says:

    You are waaayyy tiny for someone who is this far along. I can’t believe you are having a baby almost any day now!

    My friend had three ten pound babies, all natural, no drugs, and no cuts or tears, either, but she was a bit of a bigger girl. I watched two of the births, and she literally sad ouch like three times during each delivery. She has the pain threshhold of a warrior. I hope your natural birth is similar to her experience. Good for you for doing that, but if you have to get drugs, I don’t blame you a bit, because birth looks really painful.

    It is so good to hear about other women who did it. I’ve been trying to focus on positive re-enforcement to prepare, and stories like this help. I avoid any “horror stories” which people are always so quick to share! I’m not sure about my own pain tolerance but I also have to trust my body.

  3. kilax Says:

    Ooo, I am excited to hear about the all natural birth! I only have one close friend who has had kids so I am always anxious to hear more.

    Yeah for no stretch marks :)

    I don’t know how I did it! I almost feel guilty like I cheated. All I’ve been using is vaseline and sometimes vitamin E oil. Everyone keeps telling me I look small but I think I look that way because I’m tall and have a long torso so in context my bump looks small. I look at other women’s 34 week pictures and they’re all huge! o_O

  4. Mother Ship Says:

    Beautiful! Wait til your belly button pops out! It’s the weirdest thing dude! I’m excited for you …not much longer!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

